AFJROTC Brings Home National Titles

The JHS AFJROTC drill teams traveled to Dayton, Ohio, last month, to compete nationally for top honors. They were crowned national champions in both exhibition drill categories and also were named runner-up in the overall division. With 25 teams from around the world competing, the JHS Dragons were the only team to finish in the “top three” in the Armed Division and Unarmed Division.

Both Armed and Unarmed teams earned four of five perfect scores from the judges, with the armed team winning the category for the second year in a row! The finishes in exhibition drill, inspection and color guard earned them the Division runner-up titles.

The event director and Sports Network International (competition organizer) CEO Justin Gates said that the JHS teams “were dominating this year.”

“We are proud of our team’s performance under a stressful environment,” said Chief Master Sergeant Budell Willis. “One mistake can be the difference between a first and second place finish in any of the events.”

He went on to say that it has been a “tough year for our cadets. They have shown they can overcome a lot of adversity and win.”

Armed Team – Runner-Up in the Overall Division plus these category placements:

  • Exhibition Drill: 1st Place
  • Inspection: 4th Place
  • Regulation Drill: 6th Place
  • Color Guard: 4th Place


Unarmed Team – Runner-up in the Overall Division plus these category placements:

  • Exhibition Drill: 1st Place
  • Inspection: 3rd Place
  • Regulation Drill: 8th Place
  • Color Guard: 5th Place


The team members are: Michael Ballman, Grayson Bruce, Lawrence Carmona, Raul Carmona, Dean Casey, Amelia Cunningham, Daylon Dobbs, Larry Estes, Jallissa Gomez, Marlee Grindle, Walker Grogan, Alyssa Hall, Rebecca Her, Aslynn Hunt, Tanya Jimenez, Mason Jones, Bella Jube, Ellie Larsen, Aubrey Meyer, Jackson Meyer, Allie Newton, Andrew Perkins, Landon Peyton, Collin Rider, Gabby Robbins, Conner Robinson, Connor Romines, Jenna Sanders, Logan Sowards, Gabby Theberge, Trent Tillery, Kim Vo, Keegan Wilbourn and Bryli Woodall.