Prison Achievement Award 2023

Header Image.png

At EuroPris, we want to annually highlight and celebrate developments, overcoming challenges, and initiatives that have been implemented in prisons across Europe. We know from our engagement with prison services that there are many excellent examples of practice and innovation which have been implemented in recent years. For this reason, we would like to award the next European prison by giving it the 'Prison Achievement Award'. This is your chance to share your experience with the correctional arena in the coming years to come.


The developments taking place within prisons are wide-ranging and have resulted in positive and tangible improvements for the prison community.  


We know that there are significant examples of first-class practices among your prisons and services. From improvements of prisoners’ regimes, access and participation in education, cooperation with external services and stakeholders, healthcare, through care and reintegration pathways, to innovative improvements in buildings and infrastructure, digitalisation and physical conditions, to better staff support and wellbeing, to positive changes in culture.


Given that work takes place behind walls and rarely gets the public attention it deserves, we believe an annual award will help to highlight and shine a spotlight on your prisons’ success and achievements. 


The Prison Achievement Award will bring these initiatives into the open, facilitating mutual learning between European prison services and raise awareness of how prisons come up with solutions that will unite our network. 

Selection Process

All projects deemed eligible will be considered by an independent Jury that will make recommendations in relation to the overall award winner. The Jury consists of 3-5 impartial Jury members. They will not be a current employee of the European prison service.

Presentation of Award

The chairperson of the Jury will present the award at the EuroPris AGM. The practitioner/representative from the awarded prison will be invited to join the EuroPris Annual General Meeting on 5 June 2023 in Berlin, to present their work and receive the Prison Achievement Award. 

Share Your Experience

We invite prison practitioners from the Council of Europe region to apply in 2024, application for 2023 is now closed. The final results for 2023 candidates will be announced at the AGM on 5 June 2023 in Berlin to the European heads of prison services.


Eligibility Criteria for Nominations 

In order to be deemed eligible for consideration, your nomination should meet all of the following criteria: 

  • European - Prisons from correctional services in the Council of Europe region.  
  • Local - Significant development of a correctional facility at a local level, not a national prison service. 
  • Impactful - Results should show improvement and impact in one or more clearly defined areas.  
  • Sustainable - Results need to be possible to maintain over time, not a (temporary) project which ends with its funding. 
  • Recent - Development must have been implemented in the last 5 years. 


Preferred but not required: 

  • A New Departure - Change is unique, original or highly innovative. 

Winners of Prison Achievement Award 2022

The Prison Achievement Award celebrates annually developments and initiatives that have been implemented across Europe. In 2022 it was the first year the award was introduced. There were 24 applications submitted and the top 5 shortlisted candidates were selected by an independent Jury. The main winner of the Prison Achievement Award 2022 presented at the AGM in Seville was Prison Veenhuizen, for their concept 'Innovation Lab', a unique collaboration between the prison in Veenhuizen and the Hanze University Groningen working on the initiative Family Approach. The other shortlisted candidates are Pfäffikon Prison (Switzerland), Olaine Prison (Latvia), Jirice Prison (Czech Republic), and Castelo Branco Prison (Portugal).


LOGO 2.png

[email protected]

EN-Funded by the EU-WHITE Outline.png
Europris logo.png